DOK LEIPZIG
INTERNATIONAL LEIPZIG FESTIVAL FOR DOCUMENTARY AND ANIMATED FILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Under the Sun


Under the Sun




CATALOGUE TEXT
North Korea wants to be the best of all possible worlds. Everything and everyone is taken care off. Pyongyang is a clean, modern metropolis. 8-year-old Zin-mi, who is at the centre of this film, takes us through the stations of a happy childhood: becoming a member of the pioneer organisation, brisk flag ceremonies, enough food and always a song in praise of the Great Leader Kim Jong-un on her lips.

Russian-Ukrainian director Vitaly Mansky got the official permission to document the ordinary life of the city and country for one year. He knows that he is being instrumentalised and simply turns the tables by exposing how the presentations and arrangements are fabricated. His official minder proves to be a real “co-director”. So it’s the apparent details and minor matters Mansky asks us to discover. They offer insights into a well-trained and dulled society. Though we feel like we’re in “1984”, Mansky has come neither as a voyeur nor as a cynic. His camera is looking for the human element behind the mask of the official bulletins: a yawn or a moment of insecurity in this land of the ever-rising sun.

Cornelia Klauß
Credits
Original Title: V luchakh solnca
Country: Russia, Germany, Czech Republic, North Korea
Year: 2015
Language: Korean
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 110 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour
Director: Vitaly Mansky
Producer: Natalya Manskaya, Simone Baumann, Filip Remunda
Cinematographer: Alexandra Ivanova, Mikhail Gorobchuk
Editor: Andrej Paperny
Music: Kārlis Auzāns
Sound: Evgeniya Lachina, Anrijs Krenbergs
Script: Vitaly Mansky

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2018 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK LEIPZIG
INTERNATIONALES LEIPZIGER FESTIVAL FÜR DOKUMENTAR– UND ANIMATIONSFILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Under the Sun


Under the Sun




KATALOGTEXT
Nordkorea will die beste aller Welten sein. Für alle und alles ist gesorgt. Pjöngjang ist eine saubere moderne Großstadt. Die 8-jährige Zin-mi, die im Mittelpunkt des Films steht, führt durch die Stationen einer glücklichen Kindheit: die Aufnahme in die Pionierorganisation, stramme Fahnenappelle, ausreichend zu essen und immer ein Lied zur Huldigung des Großen Führers Kim Jong-un auf den Lippen.

Der russisch-ukrainische Regisseur Vitaly Mansky erhält die offizielle Genehmigung, ein Jahr lang den Alltag in Stadt und Land zu dokumentieren. Er weiß, dass er instrumentalisiert wird und kehrt den Spieß kurzerhand um, indem er das Zustandekommen der Inszenierungen und Arrangements freilegt. Sein offizieller Aufpasser erweist sich dabei als veritabler „Ko-Regisseur“. So sind es die vermeintlichen Details und Nebensächlichkeiten, zu deren Entdeckung Mansky auffordert. Sie geben Einblick in eine dressierte, stumpf gewordene Gesellschaft. Obwohl man sich in „1984“ wähnt, ist Mansky weder als Voyeur noch als Zyniker gekommen. Hinter den Masken der offiziellen Verlautbarungen sucht die Kamera das Menschliche: ein Gähnen oder einen Moment der Unsicherheit in diesem Land der immer aufgehenden Sonne.

Cornelia Klauß
Credits
Originaltitel: V luchakh solnca
Land: Russland, Deutschland, Tschechische Republik, Nordkorea
Jahr: 2015
Sprache: koreanisch
Untertitel: englisch
Laufzeit: 110 min.
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Vitaly Mansky
Produktion: Natalya Manskaya, Simone Baumann, Filip Remunda
Kamera: Alexandra Ivanova, Mikhail Gorobchuk
Schnitt: Andrej Paperny
Musik: Kārlis Auzāns
Ton: Evgeniya Lachina, Anrijs Krenbergs
Buch: Vitaly Mansky

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2018 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.